ATT Officers for 2023-24

New Officers: ATT Officers for 2023-24
23 August 2023
ATT Officers 2023-24 (left to right): Senga Prior, Simon Groom and Graham Batty

At the AGM held on 13 July 2023, the new Officers took up their posts for 2023-24.

Simon Groom: President

Simon first joined Council in 2003 and served for an enjoyable 12 years until stepping down in 2015. He was delighted to be elected back onto Council in 2018. Simon is a member of the Finance Steering Group and a former member of the Audit and Risk Committee.

Simon has worked at LexisNexis since 2006, where he headed up their newly formed Tolley Exam Training. Having had various roles along the way, he now enjoys a part-time role as a Senior Tutor.

Senga Prior: Deputy President

Senga joined Council in 2017 and, as well as chairing the Technical Steering Group, is the ATT’s spokesperson on Scottish Taxes. She represents the ATT on the Climate Change Working Group, the HMRC Representative Bodies Steering Group, the HMRC Issues Overview Group and at regular joint meetings with the Scottish Government, ICAS and CIOT.

Senga joined Johnston Carmichael in June 2017, where she specialises in private client compliance work with a particular interest in the farming industry.

Graham Batty: Vice President

Graham has been volunteering with ATT/CIOT for over 35 years. He has been involved with three different branches, starting in Sheffield and then going on to be Chair of both the Leeds and Birmingham branches as his career took him round the country. At ATT, he has been Honorary Treasurer, chair of the Finance Steering Group, a member of the Technical Steering Group and was President in 2017/2018.

Graham is currently chair of the Examination Steering Group, and a member of the Audit and Risk Committee and the Policy Review Group. For the 15 or so years, until he retired at the end of 2021, Graham was an Associate Director at RSM, specialising in the taxation of charities and other not-for profit-bodies.